Southern Leyte Police Provincial Office 

 Southern Leyte shared a common past with Leyte, its mother province.  Hence, its history had been closely woven into the historical fabric of the whole Leyte Island.

 It used to comprise what was formerly the third congressional district of the province of Leyte.  Long before its creation as a separate province, at least three recorded attempts were made to bring this into a reality.  In 1919, the late CiriacoKangleon of Macrohon, then the Representative of the second of Leyte, sponsored a bill to divide Leyte.   Although the bill moved smoothly at the house, its approval was deterred in the Senate by just one vote.

 In 1922, the late Assemblyman Tomas Oppus presented Home Bill Nr 254 which became known as Act. Nr 3117 of the Philippine Legislative proposing the division of Leyte into Occidental and Oriental Leyte.  This law, however was never implemented since it   contained the provision that the division would take effect only upon the official proclamation by the Governor General.

  The required proclamation never took place.

 The late Senator Ruperto K Kangleon presented Senate Bill Nr. 2140 advocating the division of Leyte but this, like its predecessors was also shelved.  Finally on July 1, 1960 under the bill filed by Cong. NicanorYniguez acknowledge as the father of Southern Leyte which become Republic Act Nr. 2227, the province of Southern Leyte was created as a district and separate province.

 Thus, forty six (46) years ago and every July 1st, thereafter anniversaries was held and was greeted with jubilation which only people who had worked so hard and waited so long for its realization could tell.

 Southern Leyte, now is one of the province of Region 8 or the Eastern Visayas region.  Bounded on the north by Leyte, East by Pacific Ocean, on the north by Canigao Channel and on the west by Visayan sea.  It composed of 18 Municipalities, 501 barangays and 1 City of Maasin located with the province northern territorial limits as its capital and the seat of the provincial government of Southern Leyte.

 SLPPO is located at Bgy. Canturing, Maasin City, almost 300 meters away from the Provincial Capitol while the 803rd PPMG is located at Bgy. Zone V, Sogod and the 804th PPMG is located at Bgy. Poblacion, San Juan this province.



Developed by Police Regional Office 8 - Information Technology Center & ITMS ©Copyright 2012.
Powered by Joomla 1.7 Templates